What is your favourite book cover?

Somebody asked me that today, and what came immediately to mind was this:

The original cover of ‘Taran Wanderer’ by Lloyd Alexander. Now, this was my favorite book as an eleven year old. I must have read it more than a hundred times, and just looking at the cover brings back all the excitement and joy I felt the first time I got my hands on that book

The rest of the interview:

Who is your favourite author?

If I was forced to pick only one, it would be Jorge Luis Borges

What is your favourite book?

My favorite book is ‘Mad Toy’ (El Juguete Rabioso) by Roberto Arlt, a series of stories about a dashing, if impoverished and rather hapless, youth in 1920’s Buenos Aires

What is the first e-book you read?

My first e-book was the complete – the very complete – short stories by Guy de Maupassant, which I downloaded for free, in epub format, from Project Gutenberg. You simply cannot buy all of these stories in any form, as far as I know (at least not in English).

What is your favourite book cover?

The original edition of ‘Taran Wanderer’ by Lloyd Alexander

If you could be a character from any book, who would you be and why?

It would have to be Odysseus, who was stronger, wiser and had more exciting adventures than anybody else

Leave a Reply

