Music and Writing

There’s a Goodreads group thread about music and reading and writing which reminded me I wanted to make a note of the topic in here, because there are a few stories I’ve written which were heavily influenced by the music I was listening to at the time I was writing them. and I wonder if that’s something other people experience. I tend to listen to the same album over and over for a month or so – about the same length of time it usually takes me to write a story – and sometimes the two overlap completely. Of course I would never blame the musicians for the quality of the stories! And it’s only true of a few of them. For instance, when I was re-writing Rampant Pheromonix I was listening to Bjork’s ‘Human Behavior‘ (this was already 20 years ago, when I was working in the CD store). More recently, Macedonia was written under the influence of Manu Chao’s ‘Proxima Estacion: Esperanza‘, and The New Guy in Moon Base Twelve was written while I was listening exclusively to El Remolon’s ‘Cumbia Bichera‘ off of one of his fabulous free mp3 mixtape. Now, every time I think of those stories, I hear those songs in my head.

One thought on “Music and Writing

Leave a Reply

