Spam Ratings

I wonder how common this is. I noticed that one of my more recent stories, ‘The New Guy in Moon Base Twelve‘ was rated ridiculously high on Barnes and Noble – 4.5 out of 5 with 32 ratings. Generally, my books do not such garner high ratings. They’re lucky to eek out a 3 since they tend to not match readers’ usual expectations of what a book ought to be. So I thought I’d take a closer look, and to my surprise discovered that most of the ratings were actually spam, posted by our old friend ‘Anonymous’ (as a child, he was my favorite poet).

There are a couple of genuine ratings – for example, a four star:

Recommend

Nicely written tale. Great characters.

But here are some samples of the five star entries:

 A NEW AND GROWING CLAN!!

Hello Seastar here! Leader of Oceanclan! I am restoring the former beauty to this clan!

 PLEASE JOIN CLOVERCLAN!

We have almost no members left…our leader is away at camp and our deputy hasnt been on in a days. Please join us

 join breezeclan at htee first result. We will b moving camps soon though

Become a warrior and b icetail the medicine cats mate or rp one of the leaders kits. Join at htee

KITTEN NEEDS HELP

AT CUTE RESULT ONE

Urgent to all

Starclan is remaking the 4 clans join shadowclan at shadow land result

There is even an occasional three star spam to evade suspicion (I presume)

Blackstar

Trustclan at wah. Srry old camp is gone we need warriirs queens apprentices elders and kits please join!!!

3 thoughts on “Spam Ratings

Leave a Reply

