Site Refresh

The developers at the company I work for are busy doing a ‘site refresh’, adding all sorts of pinks and yellows and purples to the company home page, and in my daytime disguise as automation test engineer, it has meant daily code breakage keeping me on my toes catching up with the side effects of CSS and Ajax changes.

In the spirit of things, I figured it was time to give this blog a site refresh as well, picking something new from the WordPress themes, and tweaking the widgets and so forth.

I haven’t had a whole lot to blog about recently, though. Most of what’s going on in my life is finding its way to my personal Facebook page, which is unrelated to the Pigeon Weather Facebook page (which is also generally dormant). This is because I have temporarily moved to the bottom of the world, the beautiful and amazing little city of Christchurch, New Zealand, recently devastated by earthquakes and still struggling with daily aftershocks (we had a couple at around three this morning) but also selected by Lonely Planet as the #6 city in the world to visit in 2013. I have to agree. Despite the widespread damage and the ongoing recovery, there is still so much beauty and wonder in and around the city. Many people told me I would love it and would not want to leave and they were right, but we are only about 1/3 of the way through our sojourn here and I am trying to make the most of every day, going new places, seeing new things, getting on my bike and exploring as much as possible, while still putting in my daily work and looking after my son along with my wife.

It’s been an internal site refresh for me, personally. I had been in such a routine in my regular life and am really benefiting from the shake-ups – literally and figuratively. To go somewhere new, and live somehow new, is definitely worth doing, if you can.

Leave a Reply

