Literature as Performance

Reading some Jose Saramago reminds me how writing is in many ways a performance art. The writer is on an inner stage when in the act of bringing words into the world. An improvisational writer is a live performer, whereas one who works more in edit mode is more like a recording artist in the studio. I prefer mainly live writing, with as few touch-ups as possible as I go along, partly because I’m kind of lazy, but also because I enjoy the performance aspect. It’s one reason why I write in the first place.

While I’m thinking about it, there was an article on Indie Reader’s Facebook page today talking about how setting ebook prices low “devalues” the written word, and how doing so is threatening to ruin the publishing industry. My usual opinions stand (i.e. fuck the publishing “industry”, and stop confusing money with value) but it also strikes me how people really think that innate human behavior can possibly be threatened by passing trends in finance. People like to sing – they will sing. People like to tell stories. They will tell stories. Those who want to make money doing these things had better find a way, one way or another, and stop whining about it. I don’t give a shit about you and your money. As for ruining the world by giving away my stories for free, well, like they say here in New Zealand, “I apologise for any inconvience this may cause you.”

One thought on “Literature as Performance

Leave a Reply

