Recommended: The Cave by Jose Saramago

This was a great surprise to me. I wasn’t expecting nearly as much as I got out of it. Its very interesting way of creating and presenting characters was what struck me most. They were revealed through conversations both spoken and unspoken, weaving in and out and exploring all around. The setting was both mythical and concrete at the same time and the conclusion startling and unexpected. This book is more than the sum of its parts, like a great painting, masterfully done.

2 thoughts on “Recommended: The Cave by Jose Saramago

  1. It is a full novel, first I’ve read of his and not at all what I expected. Mostly a study in relationships, between an old man and his daughter and her husband. At least that’s what I liked most about it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

