Art, Fame, Soul

The Literary Man discusses this diagram under the heading “why do we write”?

but the topics were far too lofty for my feeble, cynical mind. In trying to figure it out, I came up with my own categories.

Instead of “Art” I use “Method”

Instead of “Soul” I use “Meaning”

Instead of “Fame” I use “Motive”

 

The intersections of two categories add up to:

Method + Motive = Hack  (you’ve got the craft and purpose, but nothing to say)

Motive + Meaning = Flake (you’ve got inspiration and purpose, but no technique)

Method + Meaning = Freak (you’ve got talent and inspiration but not purpose) (I think I fall into this one)

 

The intersections of all three I will simply call The Sweet Spot – no need to glorify it. Luck’s got a lot to do with it, too.

Leave a Reply

