home sweet home

picking up some candy for Valentine’s Day (why not?) I was about to get myself some licorice when I noticed a package of Crows licorice flavored gumdrops. Oh yes, I said to myself, I remember those from when I was a kid. I like those, so I bought them. Carrying them back to the office it suddenly occurred to me, wait a minute, there has to be some kind of racist story behind these things. After all, this is America and, you know, crows are black, and then there were “Jim Crow” laws and all that. Sure enough – here’s a good ol’ blog post about it

crowsminstrel

Sure enough, it’s no coincidence that a black colored object had some good old fashioned racist marketing behind it.

 

One thought on “home sweet home

Leave a Reply

