No I don’t hate Christmas. Usually I end up hating Christmas.

My wife, watching a TV show on her laptop next to me, suddenly gasped and and shouted “oh shit”. At that moment I was reading this sentence from Roberto Bolaño: ‘At the end of the year they both traveled to Great Falls and spent Christmas with Anne’s parents.’ A timely gasp! Bolaño, like Sebald, makes the distinction between fiction and nonfiction seem completely irrelevant. Everything in their stories could be true or not and it would make no difference.

Leave a Reply

