Bread on the waters

Among the rewards of flinging your stories out there into the world are the occasional messages you get back – “fan mail from some flounder?” as Rocky the Flying Squirrel might say. Here’s something I received today on the Pigeon Weather Facebook page (names blocked out to protect the innocent). (And while I’m at it, I’ll take this opportunity to note a new wordpress site containing some of my stories – Pigeon Weather Fictions)

My name is XXX YYYY, I’m a student in XXXX YYYY, Lithuania. My major is graphic, to be more precise – I’m studying book art. 
The purpose of this letter is to let you know, that after reading one of your books (‘Cashier World‘), I got really interested in one of your stories (‘Deadline‘). 
This year I had an assignment to create two different books, using text of my choise. You probably already guessed that I chose ‘Deadline’ text.
So for this text I created a book, it’s design and illustrations.
At first it seemed that this book (like most of my books) simply gona stay at academy funds. And that not so many people gona see it. 
But I was given a chance, a opportunity to publish a small edition of books. The ‘Deadline’ books, design that I created. This chanse was given by my academy. They agreed to publish few books using their own budget. But here comes a problem – the copyright problem. 
So finally I come to the point, a reason why I’m writing this letter. I’m writing to inform you, to apologize you (for using your text in a first place) and to ask you for your permission to publish your text. Also I must tell you that these books would be published only for art and culture purposes. Neither I nor the publisher are seekig for any profit from this project. These books won’t be sold.
So with your blessing,

Obviously my “blessing” was promptly granted. How cool is that?

4 thoughts on “Bread on the waters

    • Hi Lisa, Your review of Twelve Years a Slave had a nice effect on me. As I was writing the new Cashier World story I was determined not to fall victim to the fetishization of violence. Stories about psychics almost always lead to horror and murder, so I wanted to make sure to take it in the opposite direction. I just wanted to say thank you for that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

