Recommended: The Desi stories of Nazli Hardy

I usually filter my Smashwords by the Free keyword, but recently I accidentally came across a set of 99 cent short stories by Nazli Hardy, which I find myself scarfing down like candy. The stories share a common thread of New York City life among immigrants from Bangladesh, and cross-reference one another through characters and neighborhoods. Nazli writes with great fluidity, grace and humor, and each of these stories suffers only from the reader wanting more, which I’ve always thought of as a true sign of good story telling. I was not surprised by her talent – I had come across her blog on the web nearly a decade ago, where she was writing by another name – but I had no idea she was writing fiction. These stories were all published in 2011. I can only hope she publishes some more. She brings to life a world I’d be happy to keep reading about.

5 thoughts on “Recommended: The Desi stories of Nazli Hardy

    • Thank You! Is it possible to find the other stories anywhere? Khala’amma’s Kingdoms and Ujala’s Light? You have them on the Salaam Jackson Heights website but not on Smashwords or Amazon anymore. I’d really like to read them if I could.

      Like

  1. Tom, I had been writing a series of short stories but I took them down until I had time to properly edit. Time ran away with the professional life and more importantly, motherhood. Thank you for your encouraging review! It means a lot, especially because I so love Khala’amma and the crew :-). I have actually continued writing and will be delighted to post them on Kindle and Smashwords after the semester ends in a few weeks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

