Experimental: Screwpulp.com

The idea behind this ebook publishing experiment is this: “By giving away the initial copies of the book for free, in exchange for a mention on social media and a star rating, we quickly get your book into the hands of readers.” After a certain point, with enough reviews with good enough ratings, the book starts costing money (up a dollar at a time) and so there is money to be made. This part if of little interest to me, since I give away my books for free anyway, but I thought I’d put something up there and see what happens. One of my novellas from last year has seen a few reviews, almost all of which have been very positive, so I thought I’d give it a chance to find a few more readers (who I hope will enjoy it).

So, The Lemon Thief’s Ex-Wife’s Third Cousin is now available for free from Screwpulp as well as from the usual suspects. What’s it about, you ask? Well, it’s science-fiction-y, sort of inspired by Jose Saramago’s book The Double, which I read while living in New Zealand the year before last. Then, when I reluctantly had to return to the U.S., I had the idea “if only I could split in two, and the other me would continue to live in Christchurch” and then what would happen? How would the two of me grow different over the years. The novella came from those influences, but it is not either of those stories. I think it’s an interesting book, a “quick read” (as they say, as nearly all of my books are), and was a lot of fun to write.

TheLemonThief_Cover

Leave a Reply

