Audiobooks (old and free)

I’d completely forgotten that several years ago I’d recorded a bunch of audiobooks and put them on podiobooks.com where you can download/listen to them for free. I can’t vouch for the quality, being as I did it myself with no formal training or even basic skills outside of reading to my kid every night for many years!

Then I received an email from the site that hosts the things, so I figured I’d look them up and see if anyone is still listening to them. Goodness. It lives!

Zombie Nights, for one, has been downloaded nearly 4,000 times this fall, for a total of more than 80,000 in its lifetime. Time Zone more than 70,000. Somebody Somewhere, 60,000. Snapdragon Alley, Squatter with a Lexus, Orange Car with Stripes, Freak City, Secret Sidewalk and Bobby and the Bedouins are all between 30,000 and 50,000. That’s just amazing to me.

This is why I always recommend “FREE” if what you want is readers (or in this case listeners). Put it out there. Your stories take on lives of their own. It’s their world now.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a comment